Legion - remixed by Paul "Strangefruit" Nyhus - out now on Punkt Editions.

"Reading the Air" winner of German Critic Prize

The Association of German Critics honor Jan Bang´s Reading the Air with the German Critic Award

The German «Preis de Deutsches Schallplatten Kritikerpreis» has today published the winners. Reading the Air is the winner of the Experimental/Electronic category.

In the association Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (German Record Critics’ Award), music critics and journalists from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland have come together to award outstanding music and spoken word productions.

Quarterly Critic’s Choice:

Jan Bang: Reading The Air

CD/LP/Digital, Jazzland Recordings 3779473 (Edel)

Think of it as »Nordic Americana«: the bell of a wooden church in the snow, muffled drums, a lightly plucked guitar, bubbling electronic structures, and – always – the voice and keyboard instruments of Jan Bang. All of this blends into a floating, tastefully-balanced electronic crossover. Also on board are long-term partners like guitarist Eivind Aarset, trumpeter Arve Henriksen and sound producer Erik Honoré. Is this jazz? Is it chamber pop mixed with music of the spheres? In any case, this album rests in a contemplative space, with meditations on loss and transience, yet full of hope and reconciliation.

Facebook: @schallplattenkritik

Instagram: @schallplattenkritik

(see also the norwegian article in Ballade.no 



New podcast with Steinar Jeffs. In this episode Jeffs is talking with Jan Bang: "From Swallow Song to Ethiopian Snake Funk"


Jan Bang nominated to the prestigious German Critics prize

Reading the Air nominated by German Jazz Critics

The new long list 2/202 is now published. Reading the Air is nominated by both the Jazz Jury, and the Jury of Electronic and Experimental.


Jury Jazz II

Ambrose Akinmusire: Owl Song (Nonesuch)

Emile Parisien Quartet: Let Them Cook (ACT)

James Brandon Lewis Quartet: Transfiguration (Intakt)

Jan Bang: Reading The Air (Jazzland/Punkt Editions)

John Surman: Words Unspoken (ECM)

Michael Wollny, Joachim Kühn: Duo (ACT)

Nitai Hershkovits: Call On The Old Wise (ECM)

Riley Mulherkar: Riley (Westerlies)

Vijay Iyer, Linda May Han Oh, Tyshawn Sorey: Compassion (ECM)


Jury Electronic und Experimental

Aviva Endean & Henrik Olsson: Split Series Vol. 2 (Frim Records) Ben Lumsdaine: Murmuration Without End (International Anthem) Bersarin Quartett: Systeme (Denovali)
C.A.R.: Gästeliste (Bimba)

Jan Bang: Reading The Air (Jazzland/Punkt Editions) Laryssa Kim: Contezza (City Tracks)
Maria W Horn: Panoptikon (Xkatedral)
Rafael Toral: Spectral Evolution (Moikai)

Red Largo: Transmitting (Madame Vega’s Boudoir)
Rosa Anschütz: Interior (Klangbad)
Montalti: The Smell Of Blue Electricity. Blow Up Percussion, Vittorio Montalti (Col legno)


 The new TV series with Colin Farrell features the track «Abandoned Cathedral» (Henriksen/Bang) produced by Erik Honoré and Jan Bang and can be found on the Arve Henriksen album “Places of Worship” (Rune Grammofon, 2013).

Review in Stavanger Aftenblad (in Norwegian only) of Aaarset/Bang/Hana at Maijazz in Stavanger 

Nettavisen review of the Aarset/Bang/Hana concert in Stavanger 

Review in Freq.org

praise for reading the air in Freq online magazine

"The soporific nature of some of the tracks give them the sensation of a warm hug, one for which you have been waiting a lifetime"



Albums of the year